Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player




Follow Us

Over the years, GAID students and alumni have won numerous awards and had their work in many prestigious publications and exhibitions, including:

Adobe Design Achievement Awards
AIGA 365
AIGA Command X Competition 2007
AIGA/Flux Student Design Competition
American Illustration
The Art Directors Club of New York Annual Exhibition
Broadcast Designers Association Student Awards Competition
Communication Arts
Creative Quarterly
Creativity Annual Awards
D&AD Global Student Awards
Dallas Society for Visual Communication’s Annual National Student Show & Conference
Design Against Fur International Poster Competition
Flash Forward
Flash Goddess Awards
Graphis Advertising/Logo/New Talent Annual/Poster Annuals
Horizon Interactive Design Awards
How Magazine
I.D. Magazine
One Club College Competition (Gold, Silver and Bronze Pencils)
Print Regional Design Annual
The Rick Tharp Memorial Scholarship
The Samsung Art & Design Institute Annual Competition
Society of Environmental Graphic Design (SEGD) Student Competition
Society of Illustrators Annual Exhibition
Step Design 100 Annual
The Type Directors Club of New York Annual
The Type Directors Club of New York Scholarship
West Virginia Flash Animation Festival


Tyler Senior Wins Creativity International Award!

Max Amato (BFA, Class of 2014) received a Gold Award in Creativity's International Awards 43 for his book, "99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall."


2013-14 One Club Scholarship

Two Graphic & Interactive Design majors— Max Amato (BFA/Senior) and Carol Ly (BFA/Senior)—have been selected to receive the One Club Scholarship which is awarded to schools and universities whose students have shown promise in creative advertising. The One Club scholarship fund’s primary goal is to continue its commitment to nurturing the next generation of advertising creatives. 


Applied Arts 2013 Student Awards

Seven GAID undergraduate majors are among the winners of the Applied Arts 2013 Student Awards competition. Congratulations to Pamela Casey, Kevin Downs, Russell Edling, Matthew Gordils, Dan Lehman, Laura Sutphen and Sarah Surrette! The winning work will be showcased in the November/December 2013 issue of Applied Arts magazine and the Winners Gallery on the website as well as at the annual Winners Exhibit inToronto. 


Interact 11: And the winner is…

Congratulations to Dave Jones for winning the Best of Show Award at this year's Interact 11. “Free Time” was judged to be the top ranking submission to this years contest by an esteemed panel of judges: James Panafino, Mitzie Testani and Gavin Cooper. To view Dave's winning entry click here

The other winners were:

Brianne Foschini, for her animation “The Godfather” in the junior category.

Kevin Downs for his entry “Metropolis” in the Senior Animation category.

Dana Mulranen for her entry “Evilution” in the Senior Wed Design category.

Jon Rom for his entry “Sleepology” in the Senior App Design category.

Dave Jones for his entry “Free Time” in the MFA category.

Kim Quinn for her entry “Mayan Calendar” in the Alumni category.

To view a PDF of the Interact 11 presentation, with all the winning entries, download it here.


The Class of 2013: BFA Awards in Graphic & Interactive Design

Congratulations to the entire Class of 2013, including the  following recipients of graduation awards:
Katherine Savage and Sarah Surrette: The Faculty Choice Award for Leadership; Kevin Downs: The Allen Koss Memorial Award for Best Animation; Dana Mulranen and Laura Sutphen: The Faculty Choice Award for Best Hybrid Project (print and interactive); Jom Rom: The Toby-Lim Sonstroem Memorial Award for Best Interactive Design; Julia Tran: The Kristen Huggins Memorial Award for Illustration; Grace Hwang: The Faculty Choice Award for Best Illustrated Book; Alexandra Lash: The Faculty Choice Award for Best Research and Designed Original Book; Lindsey Roper: The Faculty Choice Award for Best Senior Project; Matthew Gordils: The Faculty Choice Award for Best Portfolio Website; Susannah Briggs: The Faculty Choice Award for Best Typography; Daniel Lehman: The Faculty Choice Award for Most Inventive Project.

The Graphic & Interactive Alumni Awards, ranked by a committee of Tyler GAID alumni: Susannah Briggs, Matthew Gordils, Kelsey Jankauskas, Dana Mulranen, Lindsey Roper, Sarah Surrette, Laura Sutphen. (rankings to be posted) 


PETA Campaign Uses GAID Student's Design

Dana Mulranen (BFA/Class of 2013) designed the mobile billboard that PETA is using at the Kentucky Derby to raise awareness of the treatment of racehorses. The piece was part of a series Dana designed for The One Club Student Competition and for which she received a Pencil Award in 2012. A story about the campaign appeared on Huffington Post


Tyler Design MFAs featured on Design Work Life

Go Tyler Design MFAs! Their new website announcing the MFA exhibition along with custom invitations were featured onDesign Work Life. Congratulations!


2013 One Show Young Ones Finalists

The following Graphic & Interactive Design majors are finalists in The One Club's annual One Show Young Ones Competition. Max Amato (Merit/ Category: Pencils of Promise Non-Traditional Advertising Campaign and Pencils of Promise Logo Design); Lisa Spiller, Bryce Gladfelter, Hasinur Rahman and Leah Giovannoli (Merit/Category Pencils of Promise Print Campaign). The One Club is the world's foremost non-profit organization for the recognition and promotion of excellence in advertising.